April Urieta’s Speech Project: The Effect of Technology in Today’s Youth

My cousin April just requested for me to write her a speech. Let’s see if I still have what it takes. Yeba!

Technology-news

 

The argument between the pros and cons of technology may not have an end. I admit, I couldn’t really imagine how life would be in its absence. Technology has shaped the way we do everything; from communicating, performing our daily tasks, reaching the corners of the earth, keeping ourselves healthy, taking pictures, the list would just go on and on.

We are fortunate enough to experience the conveniences technology brings. I am fortunate enough that because of this technology I was brought safe to this world. Painless delivery, yes, my Mother had that. This is an era where everything inconceivable for the past 50 years has been made possible. Once a dream, now a commodity. Once a prospect, now outdated. Once a thing of imagination, now an item of sensation. And all these now made available and accessible. In today’s time, when the rapidness of development and technological breakthroughs is so impressive, it is easy to think about the advantages of modern technology. Can you imagine Erap without the help of stem cell technology? Tell me.

Kidding aside, in-depth understanding of all these made me realize a lot of things. It may have been influenced by what I usually hear from my parents, elders, or just from my older sister. In today’s society we create technology, but technology also creates us. The main danger of technology is that not only will we grow but it will also grow.

I may not have the full conviction to believe all these but I will tell you anyway.

First, my parents say that this generation has started to live a sedentary life. Children are no longer inclined to go out and play under the sun with other kids. Who cares about the sun? I can get that from Plants VS Zombies. They also say that we are all getting too dependent to wikipedia, Google, and pinging our facebook friends instead of checking out the encyclopedia or the nearest library with hard bound books. Back in the days, to bully is to shove someone in their locker, calling somebody as a pig, slut, etc. on your way home from school. Nowadays, I can just do the Gossip Girl thing, or ruin your twitter life. However, true enough, this technology can also bring loneliness, world destruction weapons, pollution, and sameness of lifestyle. They say, gone are the days for serenades, SMS radically took over the courtship activity; say goodbye to airmail, scented paper or stationeries, electronic mails revolutionized the mailing system. This is not the last of the neverending argument but admittedly, I also have observed how grammar skills have taken a backseat. Thank God I’m not a jejemon, jejeje!

Daily life has been so revolutionized by a steady progression of technological improvements that few of us can imagine living any other way. Conveniences have become such necessities that anyone who has no microwave, cell phone, mp3 player, or digital alarm clock is considered deprived.

I think, technology has caused great effect on how we do things in totality, our sense of enjoyment, convenience and know how. But one of the ways to innovate is to embrace what the previous generations can offer and invite what our time or league can provide, all in unison. It’s not a competition; it’s about recognizing differences and joining them together in the most efficient way.

