> For The Love Of My Cousin 02

Inspiring Story That Influenced Me [in this case, my cousin’s again]

Most of us have life mottos that we like to live by, a sort of inspiration to be that better person, or maybe just a motto to get us through everyday life or tough times. Great thinkers before us have shared inspirational stories to live by. You also have your own stories, everybody does, I do.

These stories of inspiration can take us many places. They can evoke in us an awakening to be a better person or enthuse a new direction in life; spark a change. They may help us get through times that seem like an unbearable slump we will never escape from or teach us to love, be happy with what we have, and just appreciate yourself and the earth that you came from. To be able to share a quote that you believe in, a quote that drives you and inspires positivity; to be able to share that with another person is something special, especially when it touches them in a way that births new thoughts or a new way of life.

I got these from my Kuya Al who has always been a person of words and opinions. I consulted him about a story that greatly affected or at least still affects his life. The question was then returned to me, “you tell me your inspring story”. I was dumbfounded, I didn’t know what to say. He then asked if I have watched Ruffa Guttieres when she joined the Ms. World. I said “No” and then he advised me to check it on YouTube and so I obliged.

Kuya made me read some of the important lines from the book. I have not been able to really read the whole book but promised myself to do so in the future. I was initially attracted to it by the simple but charming illustrations, and then got drawn into it further and further as Kuya told me more about it.

Although it’s really a book for children, the messages it gives are heartfelt and profound.

In one particular chapter, a fox comes across the Prince, and asks him to tame him. And he says this:

“You have hair like the color of gold. Think how wonderful that will be when you have tamed me! The grain, which is also golden, will bring me back the thought of you. And I shall love to listen to the wind in the wheat…”

Basically, that the wheat is just another object to the fox, but once he loves the Prince, he will love the wheat because it will remind him of the Prince. The things around us are mere things; what gives them meaning and sentiment to us is that they represent something or someone that we love. Isn’t that so?

And then we came to what my Kuya has been saying about Ruffa’s answer during the pageant.

“It is only with the heart that one can see rightly; what is essential is invisible to the eye.”

Ok, that made me realize a lot of things. I have heard of that saying, I just didn’t know it came from that story. I felt a sudden urge to really consider reading it as soon as possible. I have the Twilight Saga and the audio books from Kuya also but I think this one deserves more attention.

Other quotes that I liked from the book:

Grown-ups love figures. When you tell them that you have made a new friend, they never ask you any questions about essentail matters. They never say to you, “What does his voice sound like? What games does he love best? Does he collect butterflies?” Instead, they demand: “How old is he? How many brothers has he? How much does he weigh? How much money does his father make?” Only from these figures do they think they have learned anything about him.

“To me, you are still nothing more than a little boy who is just like a hundred thousand other little boys. And I have no need of you. And you, on your part, have no need of me. To you, I am nothing more than a fox like a hundred thousand other foxes. But if you tame me, then we shall need each other. To me, you will be unique in all the world. To you, I shall be unique in all the world…”

“All men have the stars,” he answered, “but they are not the same things for different people. For some, who are travellers, the stars are guides. For others they are no more than little lights in the sky. For others, who are scholars, they are problems. For my businessman they were wealth. But all the stars are silent. You–you alone–will have the stars as no one else has them–“

The book was published in 1943. I wonder what took me so long to find it.

You might wonder how the story inspired me. I may not have known the story before but the  the exact lines which Ruffa gave during the Ms. World pageant has always been my guiding light to journey this life. And I still am a follower of that.

Leave a comment

No comments yet.

Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

